Bishop to Co-Chair Select Committee on Judicial Reform & Redistricting

Please see this important news about a new leadership role to which Sen. Dan Bishop has been appointed...

Berger Names Senate Select Committee on Judicial Reform and Redistricting

Raleigh, N.C. – Senate Leader Phil Berger (R-Rockingham) on Tuesday announced the creation of and appointments to the Senate Select Committee on Judicial Reform and Redistricting.

Members of the select committee are:

Sen. Dan Bishop, Co-Chair; Sen. Warren Daniel, Co-Chair; Sen. Bill Rabon, Co-Chair; Sen. Dan Barrett, Sen. Dan Blue, Sen. Jay Chaudhuri, Sen. Chuck Edwards, Sen. Joel Ford, Sen. Ralph Hise, Sen. Floyd McKissick, Sen. Wesley Meredith, Sen. Paul Newton, Sen. Shirley Randleman, Sen. Norm Sanderson and Sen. Terry Van Duyn.

“After 60 years of haphazard and sometimes contradictory changes to our judicial system, I hope our state can have a thoughtful dialogue on how to modernize, reform and strengthen it in the coming months," said Senate Leader Phil Berger.

"The judiciary touches every North Carolinian, so the conversation needs to include Republicans and Democrats, judges, legislators, district attorneys, clerks of court, executive branch officials, men and women of all races, and, yes, even lawyers.

"This committee will carefully consider all options on how we select judges including the House’s judicial redistricting bill, merit selection models, retention elections, and, if we maintain a system of elections, their frequency and partisan structure. I sincerely hope the committee reaches a consensus recommendation that will modernize and strengthen our courts.”